whatsapp logo
Image of Wolf Road

Wolf Road

Alice Roberts

From Shelf: The BA Christmas Catalogue.

The epic new prehistoric children's novel from bestselling author, academic and broadcaster, Professor Alice Roberts.

Discover the history of our lifetime through the adventure of a girl and her wolf, in the bestselling children's novel from Digging for Britain presenter, Professor Alice Roberts. Selected as Waterstones Children's book of the Month and The Times Children's Book of the Week.'A fine storyteller' Philip Pullman'This lost world is beautifully rendered, so rich in detail you can almost smell the campfires . . . a captivating tale.' The Times Children's Book of the Week Tuuli is a prehistoric girl, travelling with her tribe through the seasons - making camp, hunting for food and protecting themselves against the many hazards that the climate throws at them. Tuuli knows there's a bigger world out there, and when she spots a strange boy lurking outside their camp, she realises that he might hold the adventure she is looking for.

He is from another tribe, sent to find safer ground and as he and Tuuli strike up an unlikely friendship, they set out on a journey that will impact the rest of human history.

A vast adventure with a very human heart, full of wild animals, huge scenery and heart-stopping danger and inspired by real anthropological discoveries. The stunning debut novel from Digging for Britain presenter, Professor Alice Roberts, for fans of His Dark Materials, Wolf Brother and The Last Bear.Praise for Wolf Road: 'A wonderful book - exciting, fascinating, gripping, beautifully written' Anthony McGowan 'Highly atmospheric, this impressive story asks questions about human fears across the ages.' Daily Mail 'When and where would you go if you could go back in time? I wouldn't hesitate to whizz past all the great civilizations . . . and go straight to the moment our early human ancestors met Neanderthals. What did they think of each other? How did the communicate? . . . A captivating children's tale that can be enjoyed by anyone with an interest in the origins of humanity. Paleo-tastic.' Lucy Bannerman, The Times Children's Book of the WeekWolf Road was Children's #9 bestseller in the TCM chart on 11 June 2024

Format:
Hardback
Pages:
336
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN:
9781398521339
Published Date:
3/8/2023
Dimensions:
216mm x 153mm x 24mm
Category:
Animal stories (Children's / Teenage)

RRP: £14.99

Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9781398521339


Shelves containing this book

Official Indie Children's Bestsellers (week 31, 2023)
Viewing 1 to 1 of 12 books
Official Indie Children's Bestsellers (week 32, 2023)
Viewing 1 to 1 of 12 books
Official Indie Children's Bestsellers (week 33, 2023)
Viewing 1 to 1 of 12 books
Official Indie Children's Bestsellers (week 34, 2023)
Viewing 1 to 1 of 12 books