whatsapp logo
Image of Diary of a Void

Diary of a Void

Emi Yagi, Lucy North, David Boyd

From Shelf: Can you tell we're big fans of Studio Ghibli? 🌱☁️

For the sake of women everywhere, Ms Shibata is going to pull off the mother of all deceptions...'Incredibly thought-provoking... you'll love Yagi's writing' STYLISTMs Shibata refuses to clear away the coffee at work one day, because she's pregnant and can't bear the smell. The only thing is . . . Ms Shibata is not pregnant.Being a mother-to-be isn't easy. Ms Shibata has a nine-month ruse to keep up. Before long, it becomes all-absorbing, and with the help of towel-stuffed shirts and a diary app that tracks every stage of her 'pregnancy', the boundary between her lie and her life begins to dissolve.Discover this prizewinning, thrillingly subversive new novel that's perfect for fans of Convenience Store Woman and Breasts and Eggs.'A subversive, surreal read that will strike a cord' RED'One of the most passionate cases I've ever read for female interiority, for women's creative pulse and rich inner life' NEW YORKERTranslated from the Japanese by David Boyd and Lucy North

Format:
Paperback / softback
Pages:
224
Publisher:
Vintage Publishing
ISBN:
9781529114812
Published Date:
3/8/2023
Dimensions:
198mm x 129mm x 14mm
Weight:
159g
Category:
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

RRP: £9.99

Format: Paperback / softback

ISBN: 9781529114812

Avatar
WestbourneBookshop is selling this book
£9.99 (New)

Shelves containing this book

Can you tell we're big fans of Studio Ghibli? 🌱☁️
Viewing 1 to 1 of 18 books
Viewing 1 to 1 of 7 books