whatsapp logo
Image of Clutch

Clutch

M. G. Leonard

From Shelf: Official Indie Children's Bestsellers (week 19, 2023)

There's a thief in Aves Wood! M.G. Leonard, internationally bestselling author of Twitch, Beetleboy and Adventures on Trains, returns with the third gripping wildlife mystery for birdwatching detectives The Twitchers! >> Twitch won the Sainsburys' Children's Book Award for Fiction 2021 >> Twitch won the CRIMEFEST Award for Best Crime Novel for Children 2021 >> "A twist-laden, thriller-like tale" Observer on Twitch >> "A clarion call for environmentalists everywhere" Rob Biddulph on SparkWhen the peregrine falcon nest is raided, Twitch realizes a thief is at work. Horrified, he and the Twitchers set out to catch the dangerous criminal, only to be ensnared in a deadly trap. Can they save themselves and stop the villain before anyone gets hurt?Clutch is a thrilling spring mystery adventure about friendship, bravery and protecting nature, perfect for readers 9+ and for fans of Robin Stevens, Lauren St John and Jenny Pearson. It can be enjoyed as a stand-alone adventure or read as part of The Twitchers series.Praise for The Twitchers:"Leonard knows her audience and the jeopardy comes in flocks ... Find your nest, curl up and enjoy." The Times, Children's Book of the Week on Twitch"A twist-laden, thriller-like tale of a bird-mad boy, some bullies and an escaped convict hiding in the nearby woods." Observer on Twitch"A skilfully crafted mystery adventure. A clarion call for environmentalists everywhere." Rob Biddulph, LoveReading4Kids on Spark"A twisty crime drama as well as a persuasive story about friendship and nature." The Sunday Times on Twitch"Simply genius." BBC Wildlife Magazine on Twitch"Another pacy wonderful adventure steeped in the magic of nature and friendship." Jasbinder Bilan on Spark"Leonard has crafted an intelligent mystery from unlikely material, with bonus bird facts." Irish Times on Twitch"A winged masterpiece." Maz Evans on Twitch"Enthralling from beginning to end, it really touched my young bird-loving heart! Just wonderful!" Dara McAnulty on Twitch"Twitch is an absolute triumph. The perfect blend of mystery and adventure, a winning hero with an eye for ornithological facts and a heart as big as the countryside, plus a cracking whipsmart plot, I think this is M. G. Leonard's best book yet." Christopher Edge on Twitch"Cracking characters, beyond pacy plotting and an ending that is almost Bugsy Malone-esque!" Phil Earle on Twitch

Format:
Paperback / softback
Pages:
320
Publisher:
Walker Books Ltd
ISBN:
9781529506105
Published Date:
5/4/2023
Dimensions:
198mm x 129mm x 19mm
Weight:
223g
Category:
Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage)

RRP: £7.99

Format: Paperback / softback

ISBN: 9781529506105


Shelves containing this book

Official Indie Children's Bestsellers (week 18, 2023)
Viewing 1 to 1 of 12 books
Official Indie Children's Bestsellers (week 19, 2023)
Viewing 1 to 1 of 12 books