whatsapp logo
Image of The Bandit Queens

The Bandit Queens

Parini Shroff

From Shelf: The 2023 Women's Prize for Fiction Longlist

For Geeta, life as a widow is more peaceful than life as a wife...Until the other women in her village decide they want to be widows, too.

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2023A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick 2023'Not since Aravind Adiga's The White Tiger has the rotten core of modern India been exposed in quite such blackly antic fashion as Parini Shroff manages here in this intermittently absurd, feminist revenge caper about a group of snarky, much-abused, predominantly Hindu wives...sheer gutsy verve.' The Times'A darkly funny revenge drama rooted in the reality of rural India . . . [A] vivid, unsentimental story that succeeds in being both satirical and moving.' Guardian'A radically feel-good story about the murder of no-good husbands by a cast of unsinkable women' - New York Times'Mordantly humoured, pacey feminist revenge thriller' - The Sunday Times__________________________________For Geeta, life as a widow is more peaceful than life as a wife...Until the other women in her village decide they want to be widows, too.Geeta is believed to have killed her vanished husband - a rumour she hasn't bothered trying to correct, because a reputation like that can keep a single woman safe in rural India. But when she's approached for help in ridding another wife of her abusive drunk of a husband, her reluctant agreement sets in motion a chain of events that will change the lives of all the women in the village....A darkly irreverent and fresh take on a feminist revenge thriller, perfect for readers of My Sister the Serial Killer, How To Kidnap The Rich and the Sharon Horgan series Bad Sisters.'Tender, unpredictable, brimming with laugh-out-loud moments' Tea Obreht, author of THE TIGER'S WIFE'Original, memorable, and endearing' Charmaine Wilkerson, author of BLACK CAKE'A rollicking mash-up of adventure story, thriller, dark revenge, and comedy' Cristina Garcia, author of DREAMING IN CUBAN

Format:
Hardback
Pages:
352
Publisher:
Atlantic Books
ISBN:
9781838957148
Published Date:
2/3/2023
Dimensions:
234mm x 153mm x 24mm
Weight:
562g
Category:
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

RRP: £16.99

Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9781838957148


Shelves containing this book

Books From Publishers I've Worked For - cockle warmers, tear-jerkers, WTF hair-raisers, I've loved them all
Viewing 1 to 1 of 25 books
A Random List of My Favourite Recent Reads
Viewing 1 to 1 of 11 books
The 2023 Women's Prize for Fiction Longlist
Viewing 1 to 1 of 16 books