whatsapp logo
Image of When I See Blue

When I See Blue

Lily Bailey

From Shelf: Back to school! 🎒

12-year-old Ben has a bully in his brain who tells him what to do. It makes dealing with a new school, new town and parents who are falling apart seem impossible. This heartfelt story about a boy with OCD celebrates how friendship can make you brave and find the strength to overcome anything ...

A Read for Empathy Collection Choice, chosen by EmpathyLabNew town, new school, but the bully is in Ben's head ...There are 4 things you should know about Ben: 1. He's 12 years old 2. He's the new kid at school3. His special number is 44. He has a bully in his brainSometimes Ben's brain makes him count to 4 to prevent bad things happening. Sometimes it makes him tap or blink in 4s. Mostly it makes the smallest things feel impossible. And with a new school, a moody big brother, an absent dad and a mum battling her own demons, Ben feels more out of control than ever. But then he meets April, and with his new friend, Ben might finally figure out how to stand up to the bully in his brain, once and for all.An authentic and affecting #ownvoices story about living life with OCD, from the inspiring author and mental health activist, Lily Bailey. Perfect for readers of A Kind of Spark and Wonder.***WINNER of the LEWISHAM BOOK AWARD******WINNER of the READING RAMPAGE AWARD******WINNER of the COVENTRY INSPIRATION BOOK AWARDS******WINNER of the WARWICKSHIRE SECONDARY BOOK AWARD*** 'With characters you will take to your heart and never want to leave, this is a heart-warming and joyous read about the importance of empathy and understanding.' The Scotsman'This book deserves to sit alongside Wonder as a modern classic.' Read and Reviewed blog'What Wonder does for people with physical deformity - When I see Blue will, without doubt, do for those with OCD ... this is a story of hope.' Sue Chambers, Waterstones bookseller

Format:
Paperback / softback
Pages:
352
Publisher:
Hachette Children's Group
ISBN:
9781510109803
Published Date:
8/6/2022
Dimensions:
198mm x 130mm x 32mm
Weight:
314g
Category:
Personal & social issues: family issues (Children's / Teenage)

RRP: £7.99

Format: Paperback / softback

ISBN: 9781510109803

Avatar
WestbourneBookshop is selling this book
£7.99 (New)

Shelves containing this book

2023 Empathy Collection Novels (12-16 years)
Viewing 1 to 1 of 17 books
Kids in the here and now - realistic fiction for ages 9+
Viewing 1 to 1 of 25 books